oleanaI’m always skeptical about going across the bridge. I don’t know why, I do like Cambridge..have nothing against it…but  being a true Bostonian deep down inside, I don’t want to eat anything across the bridge. But on a quiet Monday evening, I was driven down Storrow Drive and across the bridge. I was a little nervous about where I was going but hey, it was a special evening so I figured this place had to be good.

On the corner in a dense neighborhood sits Oleana (134 Hampshire st, Cambridge MA ) http://www.oleanarestaurant.com/index.asp.  Making a reservation is a good idea, even on a Monday evening the restaurant was pretty filled.

 This Arabic/Mediterranean cuisine- themed restaurant is exotic. Hues of  Yellow and Blue are prominent throughout the restaurant. Simple yet modern..hardwood floors, wood tables..clean lines..all eyes cant help but to stare at the antique fireplace

Portion sizes are satisfying.

Try the following Appetizers: Deviled Eggs with Tuna and Black Olives, Whipped Feta with Sweet and Hot Peppers, Lamb & Eggplant Dumpling with Garlic Yogurt,  Shrimp Cocktail & Cucumber Spoon Salad

Because the appetizers were innovative and delicious, there were high expectations for the main courses. I must say the main courses were a little less than innovative.  Lamb and Fish (a special for the night)  were chosen.. two very different cuisines..good tasting but didn’t meet the high expectation.

The Sicilian Almond Cremolata & Warm Chocolate Panino was served for desert…I could take it or leave it.

Oleana is a bit pricey. I would eat there again…only for the appetizers.

