606

Bright and Radiant Sunday afternoon , the last day of the Tall Ships extravaganza…walking on the waterfront amongst a sweltering crowd, all restaurants are packed filled with families and couples grabbing lunch and a couple beers. We pass the park where the band is singing ” Billie Jean is not my lover, she’s just a girl”  and across the street is the Renaissance hotel. The restaurant inside the hotel…606 Congress st. http://www.606congress.com/restaurant/hotels/hotel-information/travel/boswf-renaissance-boston-waterfront-hotel

20080317_606congress

606 Congress St is very modern and classy, a good spot for after work gatherings. The ambiance is suave; floor to ceiling wine racks are one of the appealing features. Having lunch on the patio overlooking the park, we were able to have a meal and entertainment. No alcoholic beverages this time, the entertainment was more than enough.

The lunch menu was very typical…burger, reuben, calamari, lobster roll. Ordering calamari for an appetizer…I wasn’t impressed it was plain,no flavor other than the occasional pepper that was in the same bowl. I then order the “Crab Cake BLT” with fries and my boyfriend order the “Reuben” with fries.

Many times I’m disappointed when restaurants have seafood on the menu, you order seafood and a tiny portion comes out on a plate. But this time around, it was the opposite; the crab cake portion was more then generous. The crab cake was complimented with tomato, lettuce, bacon a spicy aioli sauce. With a side of fries, it was a perfect lunch meal.  I must admit; I eat crab cake, crab something almost every time I eat out but I was pleasantly surprised by this crab cake; it was one of the best Ive had.

I was stuffed with main meal  but I had to try the “White Chocolate Bread Pudding” for dessert. I’m a bread pudding lover…and this tasted like heaven. It was so rich and sweet that I couldn’t put my spoon down. The bead pudding itself was soft and melted in my mouth, the caramelized milk was decadent and matched with the bread pudding perfectly. So many calories..but it was well worth it!

606 Congress St is priced fairly, good service and  allows customers the luxury of dining inside or outside. The location is ideal, near the harbor but a little away from the hustle and bustle of Northern Ave.  I would definitely dine there again, grab a couple of drinks ..and have the white chocolate bread pudding.

