Looking for a birthday cake? A congratulations cake or “Im just thinking about you sweetie” cake? Feel like you can treat yourself to a mouth-watering pastry? Or are you simply craving dessert?

Make your way to Eldo Cake House (36 Harrison Ave between Beech and Essex St) located in the heart of busy Chinatown. Don’t drive or walk too fast or you will miss this small quaint cake house.   

eldo 2

Now I must admit, I have never tried any pastries. Im always tempted  to buy a tart or a piece of cream cake but I always remember that the cake that I just ordered will be plenty for my waist. So my Eldo experience has been with cakes.

Walking in to pick up my cake order (I ordered it 2 days prior), Im greeted with a friendly smile. Pulling the soft sponge cake  topped with light whipped cream like frosting and fresh fruit (you can pick strawberry, mango,peach,  pineapple, apple)   from the refrigerator, the sales associate asks if it looks good; Im smiling because not only does it look so yummy but i know the person Im buying it for will be smiling too.  In green frosting she writes the Happy Birthday message.  The sales associate wraps the cake carefully and for around $17, I get a round 6′  birthday cake. 

eldo

Having an Eldo Cake not only made my waist  happy but my pockets jump for joy.  For those of you who enjoy a budget-friendly but delicious cake, try Eldo.

